Kody Nielson - Birthday Suit

$35.00 On Sale

Image of Kody Nielson - Birthday Suit

Kody Nielson - Birthday Suit LP

Forever twisting genre, technique and persona, Kody Nielson continues to be one of New Zealand’s most vital musicians. Nielson’s groundbreaking production, songwriting and exhilarating live performance with art punk pioneers The Mint Chicks helped to secure the group fans worldwide and five New Zealand Music Awards for their 2007 gold-certified album Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!

Since the group’s disbanding in 2010, his solo project Silicon has been praised by the likes of Pharrell Williams and Justin Timberlake, as well as winning the prestigious Taite Music Prize for the 2016 album Personal Computer. Alongside his work with Bic Runga and their group Opossom, Kody has been an integral collaborator in brother Ruban’s project Unknown Mortal Orchestra, and is presently touring with UMO as drummer.

Now, Nielson returns with Birthday Suite, notably the first full-length to be released under his own name. Set for release via Flying Nun Records on May 9, this auspicious release date marks Kody’s own birthday; with each of the record’s 12 songs written for one of the artist’s family and friend’s birthday. Birthday Suite’s instrumental concept also sees each single on the album unveiled to coincide with the namesakes on birthday.


1 Bic's Birthday
2 James's Birthday
3 Ruban's Birthday
4 Darien's Birthday
5 Frida's Birthday
6 Po Po's Birthday
7 Bubba's Birthday
8 Azure's Birthday
9 Christopher's Birthday
10 Jo Jo's Birthday
11 Cherhy's Birthday
12 Dee Dee's Birthday