The Chills Kaleidoscope World


Image of The Chills Kaleidoscope World

Kaleidoscope World is not just a starting point for The Chills, but an insight into the world of New Zealand guitar pop and the 'Dunedin Sound'- an influence still heard around the world today.

Originally released in 1986, the compilation captures the best of the magical early recordings of The Chills. Now re-issued again on a deluxe 2xLP and CD set featuring six bonus, b-sides, demos and live tracks plus an expanded gatefold cover with photos, posters and linear notes from Journalist Martin Aston.

Filled with the glowing songs of chief Chill- Martin Phillipps- a music savant that somehow wrangles psychedelic pop and folk, Syd Barrett and Brian Wilson, all with his innate ability to sound both joyous and sad within a moment.

A1 Kaleidoscope World
A2 Satin Doll
A3 Frantic Drift Guitar [12 String] – Terry Moore
A4 Rolling Moon
A5 Bite

B1 Flame Thrower
B2 Pink Frost Percussion – Terry Moore
B3 Purple Girl Percussion – Terry Moore
B4 This Is The Way
B5 Never Never Go
B6 Don't Even Know Her Name
B7 Bee Bah Bee Bah Bee Boe

C1 Whole Weird World
C2 Dream By Dream
C3 Doledrums Guitar, Backing Vocals, Percussion, Organ – Martin "Bananas" Kean*
C4 Hidden Bay Guitar, Backing Vocals, Percussion, Organ – Martin "Bananas" Kean*
C5 I Love My Leather Jacket Recorded By – Danny Hyde, Terry Moore
C6 The Great Escape Producer – Martin Phillipps, Terry Moore Recorded By – Bill Latimer*

D1 Oncoming Day (Early Version) 2:47
D2 Dan Destiny And The Silver Dawn (Unplugged) 2:28
D3 Martyn's Doctor Told Me 0:46
D4 I'll Only See You Alone Again 3:37
D5 Green Eyed Owl (Live) 5:33
D6 Smile From A Dead Dead Face (Live)